Hello all…I’m sorry for the lack of postings recently. Things have been kinda crazy in Charles land, but with a nice long 5-hour flight to New York City, I’ve had some time to catch up on some writing.

In a day or two, once I’ve had a chance to more fully read and digest the rest of the news out there on the Virginia Tech massacre, I’ll do a full blog posting on that. One of the things that I’m somewhat concerned about is the lack of news regarding the Don Imus firing from NBC.

Now, I’m not once to criticize. Some of the stuff that comes out of my mouth is pretty crazy too…but as I’m spending more time talking and interacting with bloggers and actually most commentators in general, I get this general vibe of complete immunity from what they say and write. Coming from the land of politics, I don’t even know what the word “immunity” means – our candidates are held to every word that comes out of their mouth.

It seems of late that these situations like Ann Coulter and Don Imus seem to be cropping up more and more. They say things that they just can’t take back. Now, I’m not so sure about Don, but having a gay-pal who is good friends w/ Ann, she’s basking in the increased news coverage and just the general buzz about her. But there was some blowback…she did lose some speaking engagements and her column got cut from a few papers. Not to mention the long-term damage of being labeled a dumb bi*ch.

Did Ann and Don really think they were going to be able to get away with this? That they weren’t going to be held accountable for what they said/wrote? I’m glad that they’re being taken out to the woodshed for this.

What does this really say to me? That it’s time for a new generation of commentators and opinion leaders to step forward and present some real dialogue. I know we all have to pay the bills, but does that mean we have to be a bigot to get some attention to hustle our books? I wouldn’t sell out for that. Would you?

-Charles