It’s funny how a little break from the everyday crush on my schedule assists in bringing things back into focus…

An unexpected call from a friend reminded me of why I am so passionate about politics and history… and the role between friends, separated by thousands of miles… and how our influence upon each other exists even in long absences. It was lovely to share a break in the action and let the words just flow, remembering how we – and others in our eclectic mix of confidants – all found each other. There are friends whose presence leaves an indelible mark on the soul… after we caught up, addressed some business, and exchanged political intelligence… I began to wonder where my generation will be, what kind of leaders history will declare us… and then I wonder, which one of us will make the leap from politico to a name fit for a monument in granite or marble.

There is a tendency in America to distill things down, to oversimplify, and draw conclusions. Impatience and instant gratification dominate where mystery, complexity, and respect once were King. With the 2008 presidential election on the horizon… we are beginning to make snap judgments. I wish we would wait a little longer, let the anticipation build, allow the potion to froth and sweeten…

Conventional families are being replaced with “urban families” composed of our friends and coworkers. The intensity of some friendships gives it a spotlight in our hearts. After my conversation, I had a bit more spring in my step. I gave a speech later that evening, ran into another old friend… all of us feel the changes in each other – our personal details evolve (or mutate) constantly – marriages – betrayal – divorces – discoveries – love – babies – cancer – love – forgiveness – redemption. I imagine the path to personal happiness is different for all… but I will forever be grateful for the wisdom of my friends.

It is possible to eliminate the coulda woulda shoulda from our political and personal lives by simply embracing the moments we are in, trusting ourselves, and our instincts.

— Media Lizzy