I usually cap off my weekend with a 1 1/2 hr yoga practice on Sunday afternoons. This weekend was no different from the rest, except for something I learned that absolutely blew me away. Now, for those of you who don’t practice the ancient forms of yoga, there are some moral & spiritual elements woven into the practice…nothing heavy, but they are very broad. Sunday, my instructor mentioned a passage from the Bible that said something to the extent of “Jesus said ‘any man who lays his hand on a plow and then looks backward is an absolute fool and is not fit to lead the kingdom of God.'”

I was visibly shaken at the moment because I had one of those moments where it all becomes clear. If you have work to do…if you have the responsibility to lead your people into the future…why the HELL are you looking behind you instead of the path ahead of you?

And that’s what I see today in the Republican Party…a bunch of idiots looking backwards. They are putting their hand on the plow, possibly looking to be the next President of the United States and leader of the free world, and what are they doing?…looking back at Ronald Reagan…looking back at 9/11…looking back at the ’94 Republican Revolution.

This is it folks…the whole shebang. In 2008, the Republican Party will lose the presidential election and suffer massive losses in congressional races if they don’t develop, market, and execute a solid agenda to take America firmly in the 21st century. We are NOT there yet. We’re still wallowing around in our c*ap from the earlier part of the 2000’s.

So this is how this is going to work…(Media Lizzy is going to kill me if I turn this into a book)

Tuesday’s post – Why the Republican leadership is TOTALLY out of sync with mainstream Republicans (reference BRAND NEW polling from GOP-uber-pollster Tony Fabrizio & John McLaughlin which will come tomorrow)

Topics:
Education
Environment
Immigration
Energy
Economy
Health Care
Civil Society
The Role of the United States in the International Community
National Defense
Social Security/dealing w/ the old people

That’s it folks…I’m a 26 year old graduate-educated voting Republican. My generation is the future. The Party is going to have to step it up. We are WAY behind the curve. It’s going to take some innovative planning to get us where we need to be…and I hope we have those leaders in the Party right now. Come out come out wherever you are!

xo,
-C