Readers may be excused into thinking I am dead; it has been such a long time since I last wrote here. The good news is that news of my death has been greatly exaggerated. I am alive and well, although I did spend some time away from blogging. It does us all good to do that.

 

In the UK, there is only one sane conservative national newspaper; The Daily Telegraph. The Daily Mail is one of those newspapers that likes to spread vitriol around the country. Not everyone in the Labour Party is bad, but the Daily Mail would like you to beleive it is true. I used to be an avid reader of The Times, but even that great newspaper has gone downhill of late.

 

The Telegraph recently has been giving away DVDs tracking the career of Margaret Thatcher and I feel in a nostalgic mood. It is nearly eighteen years since she was prime minister and even for a staunch conservative like myself, there are times when you forget just how important she was – not only to Great Britain – but to the world. Our two countries owe a huge debt of gratitude to her and Ronald Reagan. When they took office, Britain and America were in bad shape. Neither countries felt successful. By the end of the Thatcher/Reagan era, both countries not only felt successful, but demanded success. I feel this was the greatest acheivement of both of them.

 

On a personal note, I am standing again for election to Hull City Council. Once again I know I will not win, but – and it is a big but – I am determined to increase the share of the Conservative vote and set in place the building blocks for a victory in three years’ time. Wish me luck!

 

Andrew Allison