Tags

, , , , , , ,

For the first time in my life, I really wish I was a California Voter.  If I was – I would vote against Prop 8.  Rather than give you a long explanation, below are the arguments for & against – and my conclusions are below the bump.

Basic Facts: Prop 8 is controversial.  It would ban Gay Marriage.

Here is the language that would be inserted into the California Constitution:

“Only marriage between a man and a woman is valid and recognized in California.”

Yes on 8 folks argue:

  • It restores the definition of marriage to what the vast majority of California voters already approved and what Californians agree should be supported, not undermined.

    It protects our children from being taught in public schools that “same-sex marriage” is the same as traditional marriage, and prevents other consequences to Californians who will be forced to not just be tolerant of gay lifestyles, but face mandatory compliance regardless of their personal beliefs.

And here is the data from Republicans Against 8:

Republicans across California are vowing to vote no on Proposition 8 for many reasons. Here are just a few.

  • Limited Government: As a party, Republicans believe in limited government. Proposition 8 will give big government unprecedented control over the lives of private citizens by usurping their, Constitutionally-guaranteed rights and fundamental freedoms.
  • Individual Liberty: Californians must defend the constitution’s promise to provide fundamental freedoms to everyone.
  • Social Regulation: In California, we are already over-taxed and over-regulated fiscally—the kind of social regulation put forth in Proposition 8 only makes a bad situation worse.
  • A Dangerous Precedent: Regardless of how you feel about marriage, Proposition 8 sets a dangerous social precedent in California. What’s next? Telling us how to discipline our children?  Taking away the right to home schooling?
  • Equality and Fairness: Proposition 8 would deny gays and lesbians the dignity and respect that marriage conveys to everyone else. That’s just wrong. Our laws should treat everyone equally. Fundamentally, this election is about protecting equality, freedom, and fairness for all.

Thirty years ago, Ronald Reagan stood against efforts to take away the fundamental freedom for all Californians to teach in public schools. Today, Republicans Against 8 join with Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger to continue fighting to protect fundamental freedoms for all Californians.

It overturns the outrageous decision of four activist Supreme Court judges who ignored the will of the people.

No one asked me to pen this column.  I didn’t coordinate it with any organization.  And I am abundantly aware that many of my Republican and Conservative friends will simply disagree – some vehemently so.  I am just fine with that.  But I won’t sit quietly by – just to remain political allies.

Equality matters.  A lot.  Much like my feelings about immigration (I supported the original version of McCain-Kennedy) – I believe that Gay Marriage is about fairness, equality, and keeping government small.  I do not believe the Federal Government has the right to dictate the terms of a legal relationship between two consenting adults.  Marriage is a religious term – the State & the Feds utilize the word for lack of any other.   “Civil” wedding ceremonies happen all the time.  People go to the Courthouse, or hire a Justice of the Peace, and get “married” every day.

Here is the 10th Amendment from the Bill of Rights in our Constitution:

The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.

I believe two consenting adults who want to be married should be able to do so.  I do not believe the argument that it opens the door to polygamy or anything else.  With respect to our nation’s children, and the education system – I really believe a practical look at the facts gives some comfort.

The truth is this, children are going to see gay couples.  Children may be gay.  They may grow up and want to marry their partner.  Just like I did, as a straight girl.  I grew up, waiting for Prince Charming to ride in on the white horse and take me away for happily ever after.  I believe that people are born gay.  Plain and simple.  Their dreams are no less valid, no more complicated than those of us born heterosexual.

The Declaration of Independence notes we are endowed, by our Creator (who created ALL of us) with certain unalienable rights: Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness.  IN. THAT. ORDER.

I am pro-life.  I believe in a strong national defense.  I believe in mandatory minimums.  I support the death penalty being expanded to include sex crimes and child kidnapping.  I believe that our nation faces greater threats from radical Islamic terrorists and from domestic terrorists than anything else.  I believe in the full funding of the Millennium Development Goals, the eradication of extreme poverty, and that bringing an end to the Genocide in Darfur is critical to our nation’s perception of self.  After Rwanda, we simply should not stand by as millions of people are displaced, raped to death, and left to die.  I believe in free – and FAIR – trade.

I supported George W. Bush in 2000.  Now I realize that John McCain – who does NOT support the Federal Gay Marriage ban – was always the better man.

I am a Republican Against 8.  I believe gay rights may well be the civil rights struggle Gen X takes the lead in resolving.  I believe in real equality.  And I wish I was a California voter – because I would vote Against Prop 8.

—Media Lizzy