Tags

, , , , , ,

Greetings all,

Your favorite young MediaLizzy blogger here jumped on a plane and headed back to Washington, DC for the 2009 CPAC (Conservative Political Action Conference) hosted annually by the American Conservative Union.

This is the “right of the right.” 8,500 conservative activists (with nearly 50% being college students) have descended on the Omni Shoreham for this pow-wow. Anyone who is anybody in the conservative movement (and that’s a big “small-c” conservative) is here and there is a palpable energy here that I haven’t seen in a while. Ron Paul came by yesterday and was treated like a god. The NRA is one of the premier sponsors…and there are no less than three separate “draft Sarah Palin for 2012” groups giving away these gi-normous posters of her.

Although I got hit with a sinus infection that has made me feel like my head has been flushed down the toilet, I’ve gone to a number of sessions and speakers. The biggies on Friday included John Boehner, Mitch McConnell, Newt Gingrich & Mitt Romney. Common theme here – Americans have not given up on conservative values – they just gave up on the Republican Party trying to implement them.

Now, any of you who reads my postings know that I’m conservative (especially want gov’t to get out of the marriage business, straights and gays) and the most encouraging part about this conference for me is that the anti-gay rhetoric is at an all-time low.

I’ve got some more notes for later, but this morning’s program is going to me more socially geared (probably b/c the young college students here will sleep through them, given the turnout at the bar last night). I’m going to need to have a few drinks this morning to deal with Rick Santorum giving the opening speech this morning, followed by Tim Pawlenty and then Phyllis Schlafly. Shoot me now.

Big items for later today: Rush Limbaugh (aka: The Official Spokesman of the RNC) and Ann Coulter.

–OxyChaz