Tags

, , ,

Here’s the thing, human rights is not something that should be politicized. Real people with lives, with other real people who love them, exist outside the confines of our modern, clean homes in Western Civilization. Doing the right thing by those folks is not something that should be difficult. After all – that’s why we pass the plate every Sunday morning. To help others, to give freely of ourselves.

But those gifts shouldn’t be the faithful equivalent to outsourcing jobs. We can’t outsource our humanity.

Currently, I’m writing on Morocco. And Sudan. And Congo. And other dismal places with horrible problems. I have found such an abundance of love, of human strength and faith. The moral force of doing what is right compels me to do more.

I’m waiting on calls to be returned from Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch.  Two organizations that I have vehemently disagreed with in the past….Guantanamo, ahem. But alas, as there are no right-leaning organizations doing the same work – I will call the folks with skin in the game.

It is fascinating to depart the full-time political game for something that, to me, is more meaningful. But just so my readers know, I still have some pretty strong opinions about the midterm elections and the prospects for 2012. I promise to share them soon.

In the meantime, remember that we must live right and be worthy if we are to expect worthy partners in love, in business and in life.

–Media Lizzy